How to Make Your Own Inspirational Poster

For the new year I made myself a poster to inspire and inform me for the coming day. I read it every morning and try to take something of value from it with me into the day. I use it to help me keep a positive attitude and to set myself up to look at things in new and different ways. This is part of my new routine to make a more adventurous and compassionate me. I choose to group everything on my poster by 5. So it is 5 things to start my day, 5 things I want to do, 5 things to do every day, 5 things to stop caring about, 5 of the Dali Lhama’s 18 rules, My Goal for the day, 5 stress relievers, Fav 5 inspirational quotes, and the 5 favorite photos I’ve taken. I have had several people who really like the idea so I decided to write some instructions so that people could make their own. I encourage everyone to use their own ideas and change it to fit their own personality. Maybe instead of photos you want your favorite songs. Don’t be afraid to make this your own. Here are the instructions for how I made my Inspirational Poster.

  1. The first step is to find yourself a background. I used a picture I took of my dog in one of our local parks. I used a dslr camera for this so the size of the picture is 18mp at 27″ x 31″ in size. Yours doesn’t have to be that large, but it should be as large as you can get it. I made my poster 24″ x 36″ which is standard poster size. For a back ground of that size you need the picture to be as large as you can get it. If you use your standard 12mp point and shoot your photo will be 11″ x 8″ and you will need to blow it up from there. Remember that as you enlarge the image you will lose picture quality.
  2. Next I started a new project in Adobe and chose the canvas size of 24″ x 36″ and made the canvas transparent. I created a new layer and named it background.  I made the layer 65% opaque. This way it is not going to compete with what I put on the page. Then I opened my background image and cut the image out and pasted in the new background layer. I adjusted the size and moved the picture to where I wanted it on the canvas.
  3. Next I created a new layer and called it Title. I used the text option and picked my font and size. I also used the bold and underline feature. I put the title of my poster at the top of the canvas. In my case I called it My Personal Inspiration Poster.
  4. At this point I put a grid on the page to help me evenly space things out.
  5. Again I used a new layer I called this one 5 things to start my day. Using the same font in a smaller size and with the underline on I place my title for the first grouping. My 5 Things to Start My Day.
  6. I want to take a moment at this point to talk about layers. Every time I start a new text or place a new object on the page i use a new layer. For each group title I called the layer by the title. So 5 things to start my day, 5 things i want to do, 5 things to do everyday, etc.   For each thing in the group I named the layer by the group and number. So 5 things to start my day 1, 5 things to start my day 2, etc. This way if I need to go back and edit text because of a typo I know which layer to high light to do that.
  7. So at this point I start putting things in each group. Again the same font just smaller and underline turned of for each group entry.
  8. You will continue on like this for each group title and group entry until all the information is entered.
  9. At this point carefully proof read it. I would suggest you have someone else to proof read it as well. Its going to cost a tidy sum to print and laminate so you want it perfect before you hit the print shop.
  10. Save the file as a jpeg. It will be readable by every ones computers regardless of where you go to have it printed. Then save it to CD so you can take it with you.
  11. Take your CD to your print shop and have them print and laminate it. I took mine to Staples because, I know they have a printer big enough and they can laminate it. I would suggest that after its printed to let it sit several minutes so the ink is dried. After the ink dries ask to see it before lamination to make sure it is exactly what you want.
  12. Some of you maybe asking why have it laminated. I had it laminated because I have a section where it says Goal of the Day and underneath that it’s blank. By laminating it I can use a dry erase marker and fill it in each day then erase it at night. This is because my goals change daily. For instance on a day I have a Doctors appointment my goal maybe, remember your list of questions. Don’t leave until you are satisfied with the answers.

That is how I made the poster. I have plenty of time on my hands so if you do not have the time or a program similar to Photo Shop I can make the poster file for you. All you have to do is leave me a message in the comments section with your email so that I can talk to you and get to know what you want on your poster.

About jonmrjr

I am a 40 year old survivor of Congenital Heart Defects or CHD for short. This is not another blog about how I survived a heart attack. Congenital means born with. I have lived with this my whole life, as have many others. 1 in 125 babies are born with a CHD, it is the number one birth defect in the world. World wide it kills more children than all childhood Cancers combined. This is my story and how I live with CHD. My hope is to bring awareness to this condition and inspire others to chase their dreams as I do.

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love your poster! It is beautiful and a fantastic idea. I would love to have one myself… We need daily goals and inspirations!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

